O-Zi – Rus Li (Free Download)

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Hip Hop, Independent Music Finds | Posted on 24-04-2012


Last Friday saw the release of O-Zi’s debut solo EP, ‘Rus Li’, an eight track collection that features some extraordinary album artwork by Vivian Ho. Rus Li opens with ‘Intro – Million Man’, a track that seems to go at a million miles an hour before slowing down to create a more lucid listing experience more reminiscent of his earlier work with Blue Belt, a Brooklyn based indie hip hop collective of which O-Zi was the founding member.

Rus Li is generously offered as a free download at 320kbps through the Blue Belt bandcamp page. You’ll also find a full 15 track self titled Blue Belt album there as a free download that was released last summer.

Sigur Rós – Valtari (Track Listing – Release Date – Ekki Múkk)

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Electro, Independent Music Finds, Rock | Posted on 29-03-2012


Sigur Rós have recently announced details about their sixth studio album Valtari. You can listen to the first track to be released from Valtari, Ekki Múkk in the embedded Vimeo video below. Ekki Múkk loosely translates into english as ‘Not Seagull’.

“i really can’t remember why we started this record, i no longer know what we were trying to do back then. i do know session after session went pear-shaped, we lost focus and almost gave up…did give up for a while. but then something happened and form started to emerge, and now i can honestly say that it’s the only sigur rós record i have listened to for pleasure in my own house after we’ve finished it.” – georg

This could explain why Valtari is somewhat late. Ever since Sigur Rós’ 1999 album Ágætis Byrjun, there has been a full studio album released every 3 years, the most recent studio album being in 2008. Valtari was first hinted at by Sigur Rós during an interview following the premier of Inni in November 2011. Valtari was originally expected to be released in the second half of 2012 but the band have come in ahead of schedule with a release date of the 29th of May 2012 in the USA and on the 28th of May for the rest of the world.

The track listing for the new Sigur Rós album is as follows:

1. Ég Anda

2. Ekki Múkk

3. Varúð

4. Rembihnútur

5. Dauðalogn

6. Varðeldur

7. Valtari

8. Fjögúr Píanó

The Skints – Ratatat (Music Video) – Part & Parcel

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Charlie O'Shea, Hip Hop, Independent Music Finds, Other | Posted on 18-02-2012


Taken from their upcoming album Part & Parcel, Ratatat is a blinding track accompanied by a masterfully shot, black and white video. The Skints seamlessly blend ska, spoken word, rock and dub to create a tight infusion that’ll blow you away.

The Skints new album Part & Parcel has been funded through a pledge scheme in which it has already raised 155% of the required amount. It’s set for release on the 12th of March 2012 and signed copies are still available to pre-order on Play.com for just £8.99. It’s also well worth checking out their first album ‘Live, Breath, Build, Believe’ which has been on repeat on my iPod for the past month.

Coachella 2012 Lineup Announced

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Other, Rock | Posted on 16-01-2012


Coachella Lineup 2012

The lineup to the Coachella 2012 music festival has recently been announced and boy, this year’s festival is definitely not one to miss.

Officially known as The Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, Coachella is held in Indio, California each year and has been since 1999. 75,000 people are expected to attend the festival this year with 3 day passes.

Coachella 2012 is for the first time being held over two weekends during April from the 13th to 15th as well as between the 20th and the 22nd to deal with high demand in previous years. Luckily however, all acts that are playing at Coachella will be appearing during both weekends so you won’t have to choose between seeing two of your different favourite bands.

The headliners for Coachella 2012 consist of The Black Keys on the Fridays, !!RADIOHEAD!! on the Saturdays and Dr. Dre & Snoop Dogg on the Sundays. There’s something for everyone during this years Coachella with a remarkably varied selection of artists. Other notable appearances include a Pulp reformation and Arctic Monkeys on the Fridays, and Bon Iver and The Shins on the Saturdays.

In total there are 137 acts performing at Coachella this year, a list of which can be found here and to see the official Coachella 2012 lineup poster visit this page.

Unfortunately, tickets for Coachella 2012 sold out shortly after they originally went on sale but you can find Coachella Tickets here still so make sure you get yours while you still can.

Coachella 2012 Footer

Advances in Mathematics – Sad Xmas Present EP

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Rock | Posted on 12-12-2011


Advances In Mathematics, a damn fine instrumental band from Manchester, have just released Sad Xmas Present. Their sound is characterised by lucid guitar licks underpinned by shuffled jazz drumming that results in a unique listening experience. Sad Xmas Present has been described as an EP despite containing just two tracks: Borders which is so called as the chord progression ‘borders’ on being a country song and Sad Xmas Present which was in fact a tremolo guitar pedal band member Ben received 4 years ago.

Being an instrumental band, the naming of songs can be a bit indirect and somewhat haphazard. ‘It’s Ryan Giggs’ is regarded by the band as their worst song title which despite being funny at the time has since been renamed as ‘Slow News Day’. The name of the band itself even has a somewhat unusual tale as it was randomly selected from a list of scientific journals.

Sad Xmas Present has been made available as a free download from today onwards from the Advances in Mathematics bandcamp where you can also get Sad Xmas Present as a limited edition CD for a mere £3.50 that comes hand wrapped and is one of just thirty copies.

Sad Xmas Present - Advances In Mathematics