cloudeater – Sun and Sidearm

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Electro, Independent Music Finds, Other, Rock | Posted on 13-11-2011


cloudeater are a pretty extraordinary band out of Atlanta, Georgia and with the release of their debut full length album ‘Sun and Sidearm’ in September, the band have put together this video for ‘Hardly Wait’, the 3rd song on the album.

Their sound often feels like a hybrid between the panicky, hectic rhythms of some of Thom Yorke’s solo stuff and the brooding atmosphere of Massive Attack. cloudeater’s music also features some intense stormy buildups, just have a look at some of the wave shapes of the tracks below and see the kind of dynamics these guys put into their music.

The Black Atlantic – Darkling, I Listen

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Rock | Posted on 11-11-2011


The Black Atlantic - The Flooded Road

After the success of The Black Atlantic’s 2009 album Reverence for Fallen Trees, the band are preparing to release their EP entitled ‘Darkling I Listen’. The Flooded Road is the first single to be released from this EP and really shows a certain progression in The Black Atlantic’s sound since 2009.

The Black Atlantic had planned to release the EP today but due to delays in the mixing process it won’t be officially released until the Eurosonic musical festival on January the 13th 2012. However, the full EP will be made available to stream for free from the 5th of December 2011.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – I’m With You Tour Dates

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Rock | Posted on 25-09-2011


“I’m With You”, the tenth studio album from the Red Hot Chili Peppers was released at the end of last month and hit number one in virtually all of the national album charts. With Red Hot Chili Peppers Tour Dates already announced throughout Europe and another epic world tour planned, it’s going to be another busy period for the band.

I’m With You sees John Klinghofer on guitar after Frusciante’s second departure from the band. This reshuffle gives I’m With You a slightly dirtier sound than previous albums with a healthy dose of crunch distortion on the guitar. Many of the tracks are still punctuated by Anthony Keidis’ trademark staccato spoken word style but I’m With You takes a step back from that definitive, archetypal Red Hot Chilli Peppers sound.

I'm With You - Red Hot Chilli Peppers Tour Dates

Red Hot Chilli Peppers have, somewhat surprisingly to most, been going for 28 years now and are truly one of the legends of rock ‘n’ roll. I caught them at Reading festival in 2007 and they’re definitely a band you have to see live with their intricate bass lines and enormous stage presence. Previous Red Hot Chili Peppers tours have been renowned for their stamina with the band’s “3 weeks on, 2 weeks off” tactic and with this current tour projected to last from 2011 to 2013, I’m guessing it will be the same.

The band have already been playing warmup dates since July 27th 2011 through Japan, Europe and America and are set to officially start the tour’s first European leg on October the 7th. Be sure to visit this page for an up-to-date list of Red Hot Chili Peppers Tour Dates as the band make their way across the globe.

A preview of what to expect was offered to fans on August the 30th where over 900 cinemas around the world showed a 90 minute long live recording of the band performing the whole of I’m With You in order. The performance, recorded in Cologne, Germany, saw The Flea playing piano in ‘Happiness Loves Company’ after recently studying music theory at the University of Southern California. He feels that his newfound knowledge has added a new dimension to his music and has plans to reveal an instrumental solo album in the future.

They’ve clearly still got it if they can fill the O2 arena in London three nights running and this is definitely one of those bands you simply have to see.

Arctic Monkeys – Suck It and See (UK Tour Dates)

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Rock | Posted on 16-06-2011


Arctic Monkeys - Suck It and See Tour Tickets

With the release of Arctic Monkey’s fourth album ‘Suck It and See’, tickets will go on sale tomorrow for a UK tour. ‘Suck It and See’ shows Arctic Monkeys reverting somewhat to the sound of their debut album ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’ with a more upbeat, stripped back feel. However, I still feel it lacks the everyman-relatable stories we listened to in tracks like ‘From The Ritz To The Rubble’ or ‘Red Light Indicates Doors Are Secured’ that made that album such a success.

28 October – Capital FM Arena, Nottingham
29 October – O2 Arena, London
1 November – Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
2 November –MEN Arena, Manchester
4 November – LG Arena, Birmingham
5 November – Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
6 November – AECC, Aberdeen
8 November – SECC Hall 4, Glasgow
9 November – Echo Arena, Liverpool Tickets

Tickets go on sale 17th June 2011 at 09:00.

For US readers, Arctic Monkeys already have a few dates lined up in August and will also be playing at Lollapalooza.

Broken Cities – Flux

Posted by Indie Music Finds | Posted in Album, Charlie O'Shea, Independent Music Finds, Other, Rock | Posted on 07-06-2011


Broken Cities are precisely what this blog is about. They released their debut album ‘Flux’ under a Creative Commons licence last year and haven’t looked back. To anyone who’s not familiar with Creative Commons licences, it basically means that the band actively want you to download, copy, remix and share their music. It’s the way to go for any small unsigned acts that just want to get their music out there.

Flux is a 7 track album and is instrumental in its entirety. I’d be lying if I said this album didn’t sound a little bit too much like the second half of Sigur Rós’ () but this doesn’t take away from the fact that this album is an outstanding achievement for an unsigned debut. Riddled with crescendos and whirring guitar riffs reminiscent of early Bloc Party, the dynamics in Flux show an unrivaled maturity in their music.

[wp_bandcamp_player type=”album” id=”4036289711″ size=”venti” bg_color=”#FFFFFF” link_color=”#808080″]

Broken Cities have already put together a music video for The Godfather, the 4th track on Flux.